College Management

St. John's College is a statutory body which is governed by St. John's College Ordinance (Cap 1089). The Ordinance regulates the power and the management authority of the College.

The governing body of the College is the College Council which is headed by the President, who shall be appointed by the Council. The Master and Fellows shall constitute the administrative authority of the College and the Master shall be the chief administrative officer.

The Dean of College is appointed by the Master and he is responsible for student affairs. The Administrator is responsible for the day to day management. Tutors serve as a bridge the College and the students. The students form the Students' Association of the College, and an Executive Committee is elected every year to promote "fellowship", recreation and common interests among the members.

College Council

The College Council shall consist of :

a. the following members ex officio:

  1. the President, who shall be chairman;
  2. the Master;
  3. the treasurer
  4. the Fellows not being honorary fellows;
  5. the Vicar of St. Stephen's Church in Pok Fu Lam;
  6. the secretary of the Church Missionary Society, South China Mission, or a person nominated by him;

b. the following appointed members:

  1. one man and one woman being former residents of the College, appointed by the associations of alumnae and alumni;
  2. four principals of Hong Kong Sheng Kung Hui Secondary Schools, appointed by the Standing Committee of the General synod of the Province of Hong Kong Sheung Kung Hui, for a period of two year at a time.
  3. Two representative appointed by the Standing Committee of Standing Committee of the General synod of the Province of Hong Kong Sheung Kung Hui, for a period of two years at a time.

c. two other members may be elected by the council.

The Members of the College Council for year 2010-11:


  • Professor S.H. Lee, ISO, JP
  • Master:
  • Dr. Eric Chong
  • Treasurer:
  • Dr. Martin Kwong


  • Professor L.Y. Chiu
  • Dr. Vivian Wong
  • Dr. K.C. Wong
  • Mr. Frederick Ho,SBS,OBE,JP
  • Ms. Wong Fung Yi
  • Dr. K. M. Tsang
  • Professor Lee Ngok
  • The Hon. Mr. Justice Wally Yeung
  • Professor Michael Wilkinson
  • Miss Shirley Yung
  • Dr. Cora Ngai
  • Dr. Arnold Cheng
  • Mr. Joseph Tsik
  • Mr. Vincent Chiu
  • Dr. Eugenie Y. Leung

Life Fellow:

  • Rev. Paul Tong

Council Members:

  • Rev. Ip Kam Fai
  • Mr. Paul Lee
  • Miss Lee Huen Yee
  • Professor Frederick Leung
  • Mr. Kwok Chi Kay
  • Dr Ip Shing Kwan
  • Mr. Ernest Kwok
  • Mr. Michael Lai
  • Mr. Alexander Kwan
  • Mr. Lee Koon Lam
  • Dr. Jane C.Y.Lee

Honorary Fellows:

  • Professor Sir David Williams
  • Rev. Dr. Michael Poon
  • Professor Zhenmin Wang
  • Dr. W. Yao Liang
  • Dr. Jens Martin Scherpe

The Officials of the College

The Master

  • Dr. Eric Chong

Dr Eric Chong (Ph. D.) has been the Master of St. John's College since August 2008. He is a Malaysian, holding degrees in Engineering (Metallurgical), History of Religions, Theology, Anthropology and Archaeology, and Comparative Literature. He has received his education from the University of Malaya, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Columbia University, University of London and Cambridge University.His fields of specialty include Middle Eastern (particularly Iraq, Syria and Palestine) Archaeology and Literature. He is also the Academic Tutor for History, Literature and Philosophy at St. John's College

Dean of College

  • Dr. Wong Kwok Chun

Dr. Wong Kwok Chun is the current Dean of College. He once stayed in 2/F. he graduated from Heep Wo College, and gained a Bachelors degree, as master degree and a Doctorate degree in Surveying from the University of Hong Kong. He is now an Associate Professor in the Department of Real Estate of the University of Hong Kong.

Chaplain & Tutor Counselors

  • Revd. Winston Ching, D.Div
  • Ms. Jennifer Wong, BA
  • Ms. Wong Tuen Yee Antonia, LLM

Senior Tutors

  • Mr. Qian Gang (Postgraduates)
  • Ms. Nam Hoi Yan Fiona, PCLL (Undergraduates)

Tutor Advisor

  • Ms. Siew Feng Qi, PCLL

Tutor Counselors:

  • Mr. Au Yeung Ka Cheong, B.Eng
  • Ms. Lee Wai In, LLB
  • Ms. Cheung Hoi Man Mirana, BBA
  • Ms. Fan Kai Yung Cynthia, BSc
  • Mr. Li Xiaoyang Edward, M.Econ

Tutor Counselor & Academic Tutors:

  • Dr. Chan Ting Hon Kevin, BDS
  • Ms. Chan Wai Yan Cathy, LLB
  • Mr. Sham Shun On Donald, LLB
  • Mr. Wong June Limb
  • Mr. Tso Chun Fai Alfred, BSc

Assistant Lecturer(Part-time):

  • Mr. Randy Shek, M.Law
  • Dr. Fung Tak Lit Derek, MBBS

Academic Tutors:

  • Dr. Huang Wen Wei, PhD
  • Mr. Franco Macri, PhD
  • Ms. Chow Lok Wan Loraine, MBBS
  • Ms. Chow She Wan Sharon, MBBS
  • Mr. Jason Cheung, MBBS
  • Mr. Zhang Shi Ming Simon, PhD
  • Ms. Xing Qian, MCL
  • Mr. Benny Jason Lee, LLB
  • Ms. Gao Yubing, BBA, ME, MA
  • Mr. Leung Ho Kwun, B. Eng
  • Mr. Wong Shun Yee Joshua, BBA
  • Mr. Sander Paul Zwanenburg, PhD
  • Ms. Jiang Hao, PhD
  • Mr. Kam Ho Man Derek, PhD
  • Mr. Wong Yin Chun, BSocSc(G&L)
  • Ms. Lam Tuen Yee, Stephanie, JD
  • Ms. Chen Shiyue, BSocS

Honorary Academic Tutors:

  • Professor W. Y. Liang, Physic & Material Science
  • Professor Vivian Wong, MBBS
  • Dr. Cora Ngai, MBBS
  • Dr. Christy Lam, MBBS
  • Dr. Jerry Ng, MBBS
  • Ms. Victoria Yue, Company Law
  • Mr. Michael Law, Economics
  • Ms Glory Wang, M. Architecture
  • Mr. He Yang
  • Mr. Clement Lee
  • Mr. Michael Law, Building Design
  • Mr. Eric Ip, Government& Law
  • Mr. Kenneth Ho

College Manager

  • Mr Joshua Yu


  • Mr Jvan Lee
  • Miss Jobie Lee
  • Miss Carrie Fong
  • Miss Tiffany Lam
  • Miss Megan Huang